Diamond Life

Diamond Life by Fujiwara Akira

Diamond Life by Fujiwara Akira

Kanae dropped out of high school, because her father is a gambler while her mother ran away with her boyfriend. Kanae is twenty-two years old, and very poor working for a cleaning shop. She comes to have something to do with Haruki Oda quite by chance. Haruki is an IT millionaire and called “money-mad man,” or “the god of death.” Then Kanae’s life makes a sudden development. Money cannot be made by love alone, though love cannot be bought with money. People of today want to have both love and money. This get-happy-story is a must read for the present-day people. – Mangafox

I had had my eye on this manga to read for quite a while, watching as Shojo-Manhwa Scans updated its chapters when I was scrolling for Harlequins. Suddenly I realized it was finished and rushed to read it. The reviews on Mangafox raved about it and I was super intrigued.

It so lived up to my expectations.

This is a really unique and interesting manga, with a plot twist as deeply moving as it was unique. The mangaka approached it in a sensitive and realistic way, and the whole manga just had depth I had not expected from such an enjoyably comedic poor girl meets rich guy josei manga. I obviously cannot reveal the twist, but trust me , it is worth reading this manga even if you are not a fan of josei or even shoujo, just for the unique experience of reading about it. (If you really want to know, the answers in the tags) It -the twist- totally took me by surprise, and moved me almost to tears at the end (If the mangaka had took the opportunity to turn it into a tragedy then, I would have been bawling).

The twist makes the manga, but that doesn’t mean to say the manga would be worthless without it. The art is fairly unusual for a “girls” manga, but it works and is refreshing to look at. It also suits the characters better than any other style, their energy really comes through. And, despite being only 3 volumes, I feel at the end like I have traversed a life time. Many 3 volume mangas of this genre or shoujo are filled with fluff and nonsensical arcs. This manga felt like one cohesive, flowing story, I didn’t even notice the volumes go by. Looking back, it was a packed 3 volumes, but nicely paced and plotted so that time seemed suspended. It definitely didn’t drag – I was hooked and read it in one sitting, no breaks required.

The characters themselves could pass from a distance as clichés to match the apparently clichéd (though not in reality) plot. But once you get to know them, and become absorbed in the story the clichés – such as the pathetic father- become comedic devices and new interesting solutions for them are given by the refreshingly different characters. A real breath of new life into the near dead “cool buisiness man” facade. I feel like I am writing a English Lit essay- the mangaka used these devices , but whether she meant to or it was just instinct I don’t know. I am most likely over analyzing it. But it was great characterization anyhow- analysation or no.

I really wish this manga was more well known, it is a short little gem with meaning and a storyline which doesn’t get chucked around and recycled I can tell you. The sheer number of poor-rich love~love~ means this gets lost in their depths, but I really hope It can come through as more people read and recommend it. I mean, perhaps without the twist it would merely be a really good josei- one of the best. But with it it would become one of the classics- not a massive tome nor an intellectual maze, but some honest to goodness quality.

The financial advice was interesting as well. A must read to keep out of debt.

5/5! Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

